The Most Beautiful Person

 

                                 

The Most Beautiful Person

Evelyn Rodriguez-Lallave

 

 

“And how shall they preach,

except they be sent? As it is written,

How beautiful are the feet of them

that preaches the gospel of peace,

and bring glad tidings of good things!”

 

 

Beauty- Spiritual Ro. 10:15                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           

 

             Beauty involves more than just physical appearance. It is a sum of different characteristics that makes someone pretty or not so pretty. That is why I think that one of the most beautiful persons I know is my mother. And even though she is getting older I can still see the brightness in her eyes when she smiles, and that brightness makes her look years younger.

 

Her curly and long brown hair with hints of silver gives her an air of elegance and respectability, and her light-brown eyes stands out on her fair white face. I can see some wrinkles on her aging face now, but that is also part of her beauty. She is a loving, caring and understanding person, which makes her even more pretty.

  

Sadly, it’s been almost four month since she is no longer in this world with us, but I like to talk about her in the present, because I feel she is with me every single day. I talk to her and I feel she is somewhere, standing nearby, looking and listening to me. I close my eyes and I see her eyes smiling back at me. I also see the same peaceful look on her face that I saw on the months before she passed away. 

 

I recall, as if it were today, minutes ago, combing her then short hair with silver natural highlighted strands, and her hair looked more grayish than ever before. Her eyes looked more tired and hollowed than before, but they were still smiling at me like they always did. And I remember myself telling her how pretty she looked with her short grayish hair and her beautiful brown eyes.

 

I said, “Mom, you look like the American women in Florida, your short hair is very pretty Ma.” That made her smile. That day, her eyes looked sad but they were still beautiful in a melancholic kind of way.

                                                      

My mother is very beautiful and not because of how she looks but because of how she is. Her beauty is not only physical but also spiritual, more spiritual now than ever since she is not physically with us.

She left this world on August 30th, 2002 at 5:00 a.m., and when I saw her that same morning she looked like an angel to me. She was wearing a light pink dress, and was lying down in a big white coffin with gold trims and pink roses on top of it. I was not expecting that. I had gone there to actually order her coffin in the event that that happened and she would leave us, since her cancer was terminal and there wasn’t much time.

 

After my shock passed, I placed a yellow rose by her so she would know she was taking with her part of me. It’s not a tradition to do that, I just felt the need to give her something, since she gave me and my siblings the best of her when she was alive. I wish we had given her more. But we gave her lots of love. And she knew it and appreciated it all in her soft beautiful heart.

 

So my mother is and will always be the most beautiful person I’ve ever known.   To my beloved mother, Carmen Rodriguez, Mama, descanza en paz! (Rest in Peace). I miss you with all my heart. I will eventually see you again, in heaven.    

 

