Talking to a Mirror

I am seeing what you see, 

Oh! My dear old broken mirror,

yet I am confused.

I see the leafs of time gently touching my face

as it with each small stroke and kiss,

of every hour and every day

they could paint fine lines

on my dumbfounded face.

Just like a mask I involuntarily placed on.

A new me, a new us…

And I see you when I look at myself,

I see my dad, my mother,

and all of us out there,

who had reached 20

in a decade

or so…

Yes, we all have met

the surgical knife of time,

and it is here to stay.

But there’s no reason to fret,

or whine about it…

See, the knife of time

is molding your body and your face

into a smile or a frown

much like carving a pumpkin

in Hallowing Town.

But there’s no need to panic

it’s just part of our life,

growing old, bold, and wise

even witty and naughty, sometimes.

That’s life…

And there’s still

so much for you a head,

so much you can offer,

I can only guess,

and so much to give…

Be glad to have experienced

such a joyful life

I am a fair witness,

that with each soft kiss

you give to your child

on their birthday

or to your mother on yours,

Time cunningly comes by

To hug you and kiss you back.

And later one by one

invisible lines

like magic roots

will grow all over you,

like orchids and lilacs

growing and blooming

in the beautiful garden

that you’ve become.

Orchids don’t enjoy the sun.

_Not so much;

And might even have a not so uniform shape.

Yet they seem more striking each day…

So you see?

Oh, mirror, dear friend!

Things can be different and the same…

But don’t stop smiling.

Not yet.

Let the light of all those years,

the experiences, and the memories, my dear

be drawn into your striking eyes

and into your remarkable smile.

Let the shape of naïveté and joyful youth

take a better form to a new you;

Self-assured, word savvy, and smarter you.

_You are a Star.

And you will keep inside and forever

that eternal youth

we all seek in the outside,

thru a wide mirror standing by…

By Evelyn R.L.

I’m Evey

Welcome to Nook, my cozy corner of the internet dedicated to Poetry, Story Teller, and Books. Also about life, family, food, and all things nice. Here, I invite you to join me on a journey of creativity, inspiration, motivation and emotional healing, with a touch of love, and an unapologetic free spirit. Let’s get crafty!